Galileo's Pendulum

November 20, 2012

Dear Senator Rubio:

Recently you gave an interview to GQ magazine, in which the following exchange occurred:

GQ: How old do you think the Earth is?
Marco Rubio: I’m not a scientist, man. I can tell you what recorded history says, I can tell you what the Bible says, but I think that’s a dispute amongst theologians and I think it has nothing to do with the gross domestic product or economic growth of the United States. I think the age of the universe has zero to do with how our economy is going to grow. I’m not a scientist. I don’t think I’m qualified to answer a question like that. At the end of the day, I think there are multiple theories out there on how the universe was created and I think this is a country where people should have the opportunity…

View original post 796 more words

3 thoughts on “

  1. I like the argument that quantum physics and relativity, two key theories that help us determine the age of earth, are integral to the mechanisms and design of modern technology and therefore integral to our economic prosperity, but I feel let down that we have to go to such lengths to decide we need science believers in government!

Leave a Reply

